What’s in the fridge?

So, I manage a soup kitchen, which is a pretty interesting job.  I meet lots of neat people, and working as the chef of a soup kitchen is a lot like catering which I like.  I also really like that I never do the same thing twice, even if it’s the same menu there is always a new twist.  Today I had planned on making baked macaroni and cheese, a guest favorite however; I forgot the cheese- and baked macaroni would not be well received.  So I stood in the walk-in fridge for a while and bounced some ideas off of the dining room manager and walked away with lasagna!  Now I’ve made lasagna a few times before but never like this!  I didn’t have any meat so I used an assortment of veggies (fresh spinach, mushrooms, tri-colored peppers, artichokes, onions, and veggie burgers).  It came out great, and everyone loved it- the guests couldn’t even tell it was vegetarian!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Allie
    May 25, 2011 @ 15:32:22

    Of course they couldn’t tell, Darlin’! Sounds delicious!! xoxo

    Reply

  2. sbcarrier
    May 25, 2011 @ 15:52:17

    Great post! I like hearing about your work…as a follow-up post (just a suggestion) you could type up the recipie for your on-the-fly-lasagna and make that its own post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

