The Perfect Meal

A Cook's Tour

Image via Wikipedia

I just finished reading “A Cook’s Tour” by Anthony Bourdain, which I loved as much as “Kitchen Confidential” though for very different reasons. While “Kitchen Confidential” presents a very colorful idea of what life in a kitchen is like, and fortunately I haven’t experienced anything like that in my career, “A Cook’s Tour” seeks to define the qualities of a perfect meal. Bourdain basically concludes that a perfect meal has very little to do with the food and everything to do with the environment. I would have to agree; eating at The French Laundry is on my bucket list but it’s not the thing I would ask for on my death bed. When i think back on all the meals that stand out in my mind the times I think of are memories of family, friends, and laughter.

Leave a Reply

