Mystery Meat

Sloppy Fred

So, I got back to work from a retreat for all the new members of my order and had to come up with something for lunch.  When there is nothing defrosted my go to menu is mac and cheese, but I didn’t have any cheese!  So it’s time to get creative.  Someone had donated a 25 pound bag of quinoa  (a really healthy seed that cooks like a grain); so I cooked that up, mixed it with some seasonings, and covered it with sloppy joe sauce!  Half of the guests had no idea they weren’t eating meat, and just about everyone liked it a lot!  You had to look at it pretty closely to notice that it was too lightly colored to be any kind of meat.  Some people asked me what it was because it wasn’t like any kind of sloppy joe they had ever eaten- I told them it was a sloppy fred.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 07:17:21

    Sloppy Fred – I like that!

    Reply

  2. sbcarrier
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 15:51:23

    BAHAHAHAHA! Sloppy Fred. I like it! Good story!

    Reply

  3. Mary Penberthy Calhoun
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 12:24:35

    you would totally do that =P

    Reply

  4. Cat Tall
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 17:23:14

    Can we get the full recipe? I’m dating a veggie now…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

