Treasure Map?

“A ship is safe in harbor, but that’s not what a ship is built for.”

– William Shedd

A lot of people ask me, usually with a somewhat shocked expression, what led me to religious life.  It would have been nice if God had handed me a treasure map to tell me exactly where I needed to go, and I don’t think an X to mark the spot would have been too much to ask for?  But the truth is I didn’t really know where I was going when I started on this journey, and there will be no “X” to mark the finish line since I will always be growing and discerning.

When I was little I had always thought I’d get married, have kids, be an aerospace engineer for NASA… but God asked me to follow a different route and called me to religious life.  I wish I could say there was a moment when I was sure about all this, mostly because people keep asking me how I knew, but really I came to know as I searched for the one place where I felt like I could be happiest; and when I stumbled upon Mercy it felt like I was coming home.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 22:38:54

    I like that. Very insightful and mature (*gasp* who knew?) of you. But I have a map, right? It’s just around here somewhere…

    Reply

  2. broke in ClevelandAllie
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 09:41:17

    Nicely put. Though I wish you had come to work for NASA because then you could live in Cleveland and work at NASA! And go shopping at the West Side Market. Meh! Next time you come to visit we’ll take you out to someplace fancy!

    Reply

  3. Allie
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 16:57:16

    This is really great, Mandy… ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

