Never miss a good chance to shut up

I just got back from my very first silent retreat and I could not be more excited and energized! I was a little worried when I set out, I just couldn’t imagine nine days of silence. Now, I can’t imagine anything more beautiful. It did take me a day or two to get into the rhythm, but once I did it was a refreshing and rejuvenating time with God.

The retreat center was lovely, and the food was pretty good (which had been a serious concern of mine).  What I was surprised by though was how wonderful the conversation with my assigned spiritual director turned out to be!  It usually takes me a while to get to know a new director but the sister to whom I was assigned was very perceptive and very deep.  Thanks to her I think I got the most out of my time away with God!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angie
    Nov 13, 2011 @ 07:29:07

    Excellent, Mandy! I am amazed that you spent and loved 8 days of silence, something that is even hard for me to accomplish, and that God gave you such a good fit with the spiritual director. Did you find yourself talking a mile a minute when you returned home or was all the noise and fast pace of the rest of the world really evident to you when you left?

    Reply

    • blackconstance
      Nov 13, 2011 @ 10:14:35

      Hey! yeah it was strangely serene, and slow motion-y at first, and I had a great drive home where I stopped every hour or so to visit various relatives who lived in the area. Now that I am really back, with work and everything, I find myself consciously trying to hold on to that “real time” where I can savor each moment and not let one month turn into another in the blink of an eye!

      Reply

  2. Connect with Mercy Blog
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 16:39:26

    Sounds like a wonderful experience! Thank you for sharing.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Drawing Mandalas: The Mirror of Wholeness « Nun with a side of pirate

Leave a Reply

