Blackberries and Biscuits

I’ve kept up a college tradition in an effort to keep Advent separate from Christmas, which according to retailers apparently begins in August.  I commemorate the liturgical new year, which is the first Sunday of Advent, by planning a special dinner in which all the dishes must start with the new liturgical year’s letter (that is year A, B, or C).  This being year B everything in my menu had to start with a B:

I made up the blackberry parfait based on something I had once before.  Basically you mix Greek yogurt with honey and ginger to taste and layer it in a glass with sliced blackberries.

Also, I was reading this messy Jesus business and saw a great video reminding people to get back to the true meaning of Christmas.  The point that really struck me is that the money I spend on postage could feed a third world child for a year!  The materialism surrounding Christmas is way out of hand, and I wish it wasn’t about all the presents but rather about the time we spend with each other celebrating the birth of Love!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Connect with Mercy Blog
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 13:20:01

    A delicious menu to go with some very important thoughts. Great post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

