It would be so nice if something made sense for a change

So, my dad is a deacon and he asked me if I would come talk about my discernment to a class of high schoolers at his parish.  So aside from the part where I was freaking out about public speaking I thought it would be a great idea, except now I have no idea what I am going to say.

I was thinking about where I’ve been so far and the thing that surprises most people is that I started college as an aerospace engineering student.  Even though I was good at it I wasn’t happy so I decided to change majors, but not schools since I didn’t feel like moving.  After looking at what my school offered I started crossing all the things I didn’t like off: education, nursing, business, performance…  I ended up as a religious study major because it was the only thing left that interested me at all.  I enjoyed my classes but had no idea what I wanted to do!

By senior year I noticed that my campus job in catering was more fun than classes and decided to go to culinary school, which I loved!  This decision involved prayer, and the help of a spiritual director who walked me through the process of discerning my gifts and charism.  So ok, its not what I set out to do but it is what makes me happy and fulfilled, which counts for a lot if you ask me.

How did this lead to religious life, you may ask?  Well, it didn’t really.  Religious life sort of quietly lead me to cooking, its something I’ve always enjoyed but it took the realization of my call to religious life to shed some light on what I wanted to be when I grow up.  The two calls together, religious life and culinary arts, have brought me a deeper sense of peace and stillness in my life than I had thought was there when I started this part of my journey.

The measure of achievement is not winning awards. It’s doing something that you appreciate, something you believe is worthwhile. I think of my strawberry souffle. I did that at least twenty-eight times before I finally conquered it.” ~ Julia Child

So long story short, if you find something worth fighting for don’t give up even if it doesn’t seem to make sense.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roger
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 21:55:43

    Mandy,
    This is the basis for a good talk. Very nice, honest and sincere.
    Love ya!

    Reply

  2. Roger
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 21:58:00

    Forgot to say, one of the tenets of discernment is joy. If we are following the path set for us, if we are using or gifts effectively, we will find joy and peace.

    Reply

  3. sbcarrier
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 09:46:46

    I liked this post…its a lot of insight into yuo!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: What I should have said was… « Nun with a side of pirate
  5. Coolest nun!
    Nov 28, 2012 @ 20:16:50

    Awesome reflection. You are an amazing blogger.
    In mercy,
    Elaine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

