What I should have said was…

Well, that talk to the high school kids was the other day, and holy crap I was scared out of my wits!  It probably would have been better if I had just read my previous blog post!  But oh well, I guess now I know that public speaking is not one of the graces God has given me.  The worst part is that I keep kicking myself  afterwards when I would think of the things I should have said instead of rambling for 15 min (if I even talked that long).  I should have talked about mercy challenge, the peer run discernment group I was in during college, any thoughts on any of the come and see weekends… and the list goes on.

What I tried to get across was that sometimes the things that seem the most scary are the things that are really the most worth while.  Discernment can be very scary.  Religious life is not something that too many young people are perusing, and there are so many questions that come up that its hard to even know where to start.  I felt very alone in my struggle until I got to know some people in college, spiritual directors and peers, who could understand what I was dealing with.  This journey has been hard, but worth it, especially because of all the awesome and wonderful people I have met along the way.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Coolest nun!
    Nov 28, 2012 @ 20:34:48

    I hope you know that while your journey is unique, you are not alone. Discernment sure can feel scary and it is pretty sacred too. Glad we get to walk along with you!

    Reply

  2. blackconstance
    Nov 28, 2012 @ 22:38:05

    Thanks! you ARE the coolest!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

