An oasis in the desert: Starbucks and other adventures

Last weekend I went down to Laredo to visit the novitiate where I will be spending a year studying, ministering, and discerning.  I’ve been worried about going to Laredo because of all of the stories I’ve heard concerning the local wildlife i.e. tarantulas!  Not to mention that it easily gets up to 100 degrees, and it’s in the middle of nowhere on the Rio.  Literally you look out over the backyard and bam there’s Mexico!  On the upside, it’s not in such a remote place as I had originally thought; there are four Starbucks in the area, so it can’t be all that bad.  The building is actually owned by another order of Sisters who run an orphanage.  They have their own garden and they raise chickens, rabbits, and turkey which they have been kind enough to share with the Mercy household!  Unfortunately, eating a chicken that they have seen raised is about to turn two of the sisters into vegetarians.

I was also taken on a tour of the town by one of the novices where I got to see the classrooms, some of the ministry locations, and of course one of the Starbucks!  All in all I am so glad I was able to visit and meet the sisters with whom I will be living, to learn about the program, and to see that life in the desert isn’t all that bad.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Allie
    May 22, 2012 @ 10:43:38

    Oh I’m so glad it went well! I was worried when you first told me about the area!
    I have to say, turning into vegetarians is a good thing for our bodies, the earth and the animals! We should all have a better understanding of the amazing sentient animals at the end of the fork. We are far too disconnected from the fact that farm animals are so like our beloved cats and dogs! Chickens have 30 different calls alone! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Angie
    May 22, 2012 @ 17:08:02

    Pretty nice pictures, Mandy! It does look like a good home away from home. So, is that spider a baby tarantula? And, what’s with the grates on the building? Does that mean you will be cloistered? 🙂 I’m glad that you have access to 4 Starbucks…sounds as prevalent as Dunkin Donuts in the Northeast, but better! I still prefer St. Bens in the northern Midwest…we will have to compare experiences while in the novitiate hopefully at the same time!

    Reply

  3. blackconstance
    May 22, 2012 @ 18:27:12

    Hey Angie! I just heard that since there will be no novices next year that there is a committee being formed to asses the needs of the novitiate program and to see if they can all be met in Laredo…aka should they move!?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

