Fruit of the Vine

So my house has been doing a great job of keeping up our awesome practice of a monthly social activity.  I planned this month’s fun and games, with the help of living social, and we went to the Haight-Brown vineyard for a wine tasting.   The deal was for a tasting of nine locally produced wines, some grapes grown there at the vineyard and some from New York (which is a great area of wine, by the way).  We also opted to get the cheese and chocolate pairing plates- yum snacks!  The wines were wonderful and even though I am not a fan of white wines I was pleasantly surprised by the Chardonnay- which was on the dry side, and had some herbal notes.  I enjoyed it so much that I bought a bottle (very reasonably priced) to share with my sister when she came up to Connecticut for my mom’s mother’s day present: a weekend at the Mercy vacation house on the beach!The weekend at the vacation cottage work out perfectly.  It is so great to have the property available to us for vacations not to mention the weather actually cooperated, and I didn’t even get a sun burn!  This weekend was sort of my mom’s idea- she had been watching all those hallmark commercials for cards and agreed with the ads which said, “I just want to spend time with you!”

I can’t wait until I actually have some time off so I can spend a whole week there, next summer perhaps!  Check out my sis’s pictures of the beach she’s quiet the photographer!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. sbcarrier
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 17:39:28

    I like how you displayed the photos to the side of the text!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

