Shanghaied at the Farmers Market

I was heading out to lunch with a cool, some would say the coolest, sister when she suggested swinging by a farmer’s market. I  thought, “gee I love farmer’s markets, why not!”  When we get there people are pretty much packed up but hey I like to sleep on Saturdays, but then Sister says, “Hey lets go talk to those guys.”  Turns out we aren’t there to shop oh no, we are there to get donations for the soup kitchen!  I may hate talking to people I don’t know but I did get nine flats of tomatoes, bags of peppers, eggplant, and a bouquet of sunflowers.  Not too shabby.  I used most of the goodies to make some delicious eggplant parm (minus the parm) with a lamb and veal ragout, and tomorrow I think I’ll cook the acorn squash as a side dish for the pork I plan on making.

Sister wants me to go with her for more another Saturday.  The guys we talked to said we could have filled trucks- literally plural trucks!- if we had been there at 6 or 7 in the morning.  I don’t think I could bear to drag myself out of bed at that ungodly hours, forgo my pancakes, to go ‘weight lifting’ at the market.  Well, maybe for some mushrooms…

You would think we would get more surplus local produce, or the dented and scared ones anyways, but we don’t get a ton.  We have received some goodies from the farmer’s market that is held every week a block from the kitchen.  We’ve also been able to make some other great connections through that farmer’s market.  Zen’s Roasters for example have started to blend and roast a custom “Community Blend” specifically designed for us at the soup kitchen, and I gotta say their coffee gives Starbucks a run for their money!  The great new coffee also goes great with the fresh handmade donuts and parties from local bakeries.  Its pretty cool being a sort of farm-to-table soup kitchen.

You Might Also Like:
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sbcarrier
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 08:38:42

    i like this post! Let us know if you go again!

    Reply

  2. Coolest nun!
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 22:21:41

    Coolest blog ever!,,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

