Looking down the road

The other day we celebrated the 50th anniversary of three of the sisters, one of which I live with!  It was amazing to celebrate their lives and all the years that they have lived in community, being there made me think of something my original vocation minister said to me.  The day I entered she said, ‘just think in 50 years we’ll be celebrating your jubilee!”  At the time all i could think is holy cow how can I think 50 years down the road!  But now, as I celebrate with my house mate, I think yeah this will be me one day.  Everything just felt so right that day, I cant wait for my own celebration!  2 years down, and only 48 to go!

The ceremony on Sunday was beautiful, I processed in with the cross ahead of a liturgical dancer, and the three jubilarians as we sang “We are Called”.  Afterwards we all, over 100 sisters and family members, gathered for a reception where I caught up with some of the sisters.  I was so wonderful for me to be able to see women who have been living this life for 50 years and are still enjoying every moment of it.  I was once asked to be on a panel because I was young and they wanted a “sister” who was still excited about their life and all I could think of were many of the 70, 80, and even 90 year old sisters I know who are just electric with excitement about the life they have chosen to live.  I know, with a quiet sense of joy, that in 48 years I’ll still feel the same about my choice, or maybe I’ll feel even better!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Victor S E Moubarak
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 02:32:54

    Wonderful post.

    God bless you.

    Reply

  2. Danielle
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 11:54:15

    It sounds like a beautiful occasion indeed.

    It’s hard, sometimes, to imagine a year down the road, let alone fifty – and yet each of those jubilarians once stood where you stand. And to be able to share in their continuing joy, and carry on the joyful serenity of religious life towards you own, eventual, jubilee, must be a gorgeous thought.

    Blessings – and thank you for sharing!

    Reply

  3. Coolest nun!
    Nov 28, 2012 @ 20:25:53

    Another wonderful blog. Love the joy you are feeling.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

