Discernment in the 21st century!

Do you know how many women’s orders there are in America?  I tried to find out and one count was listed at nearly 60,000 while another simply said, “a heckuva lot” which sounds about right to me.

How did I find the one place that feels like home you may ask.  I know you’ve been wondering so here is my little tale, and no its not like in a movie where two characters see each other for the first time and bam love at first sight.  I never knew a sister of Mercy growing up, never even heard of them in fact.  So many people ask me if I went to Mercy High, or the college the Sisters of Mercy founded and they are all surprised to know that I found the Mercy’s online through Vision Magazine’s vocation search!  I had totally forgotten about this search tool until I read Cyber Pilgrim’s blog. 

When I began to get serious about this whole religious life thing in college I had no idea what I was getting into!  The first foray I had into discernment was what they call a ‘come and see’ weekend, which is a whole weekend where an order shows you the recruitment video so-to-speak.  Like I said, I had no idea what I was doing or how to go about even listening to God.  Orders would call me, e-mail, and send me packets and pamphlets.  I had more mail than anyone in my dorm, it literally filled two 3″ binders!  Then a copy of Vision Magazine landed in my lap and I found the vocation search on their web site.  I figured that sounded easy enough and when I gave it a shot I received a long list of likely candidates which I began investigate.  Some of it was easy, for example I’m not cut out to be in the medical field so cross of all the orders where they are all nurses and doctors.  Other things were just gut feelings, and thankfully I think God spoke to me through my gut because its been 2.5 years and I am more sure than ever that this is where I have always been meant to be.  Maybe on-line discernment isn’t for everyone but hey, its worth a shot right?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sbcarrier
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 13:06:03

    HAHA! Sounds like picking a college!

    Reply

  2. blackconstance
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 18:43:39

    You know, it really kinda was!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

