The Flying Nun: Formation in an International Order

I may not travel by habit like Sally Fields but I sure do get around.  Formation, which includes workshops, retreats, and the like take me all over the place!  I’ve been up to the Native American reservations in Maine, retreats in Massachusetts and Arizona, workshops in Chicago, St. Louis, San Antonio and Detroit, and an immersion in California.  Upcoming travel plans include workshops in good ‘ole Detroit, as well as New York.  Then I have a little fun planned in D.C.

This summer is also shaping up to be pretty exciting.  I’ve got a long work shop in San Francisco and then hopefully I’ll be checking out some ministry options in Vermont on a farm and Eco-spirituality Center the Sisters have, as well as an immersion program in Maine!  I may even get to Guatemala for a little immersion experience if I’m lucky!  I’ve been brushing up on my Spanish, which could use a lot of work, by reading children’s book.  Has anyone else read ?Donde esta Spot?  Next on my reading list will be another childhood classic: Donde viven los monstruos (Where the wild things are).

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. suzanne deliee
    Feb 25, 2013 @ 20:00:39

    Sounds busy. What struck you the most?
    Pick out a good Spanish telenovela for Spanish understanding..

    Reply

  2. blackconstance
    Feb 25, 2013 @ 22:13:50

    I think in all this traveling the thing that has struck me the most has been the hospitality I, and the others, have received. When other sisters welcome us into their areas and homes it is a very warming and affirming experience of the familial relationships that are developed in community. When those to whom we are ministering welcome us into their space and lives it can be very humbling, and eye opening. Those are the moments when I feel I have seen God in the people I have met.

    Reply

  3. Elaine Deasy, RSM
    Feb 27, 2013 @ 09:10:48

    Great blog Mandy.
    I look forward to the wonderful events you have yet to experience.
    While the concept of the flying nun was so inherently phony, your description of flying hither and yon is truly reflective of the times and spaces in which we live.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

