A Happy Sad Ending

“The opposite of the happy ending is not actually the sad ending–the sad ending is sometimes the happy ending. The opposite of the happy ending is actually the unsatisfying ending.”
Orson Scott Card

So today was my last day of ministry, and it’s funny how many little things I never noticed over three years. And they have all become so apparent in the last three days. The care I take in coming up with the daily menu, how truly happy I am to see my regulars, how I love joking with them…
As soon as I had set a end date for my ministry this transition became very real. I always knew I’d leave, I just expected to feel done at the same time. The people I have met are truly wonderful so its hard to get sick of a job like that!
I feel like I’ve done a great job there, the kitchen was certainly a mess when I inherited it. The opportunity to fix the kitchen, in addition to my daily sense of a job-well-done, makes me feel very satisfied even though I will miss everyone. I never knew the effect I had on the guests and volunteers until today. Its just too bad that they had to express this to me through the immortal words of Barry Manilow as they all sang “Oh Mandy”! I get tired of that song, but it really was touching.

312258_503868976334125_442505369_n

Leave a Reply

