New beginnings: life after ministry

So it’s been awhile since I’ve posted and so much has happened now that I am gainfully unemployed. Since I have left my ministry I have gone on a week long silent retreat at Mercy Center, a week long vacation in Vermont, was accepted as a Novice, and currently a week long workshop on our founder Catherine McAuley in San Francisco. Talk about a crazy whirlwind adventure!
Well first off retreat was wonderful! The beach was lovely, and the space at Mercy Center is just so peaceful. I was so lucky to have the opportunity to work with one of our sisters here who specializes in prayer and spirituality. She walked with me over the course of the week as my spiritual director and helped me to look at what is moving in me during this time of transition.20130618-210930.jpg
After that rejuvenating week I went on to have some fun up in Vermont where I ate entirely too much Ben and Jerry’s, if there is such a thing. I enjoyed my stay at the Mercy vacation house on lake Champlain from which I was able to make wonderful day trips to the surrounding sights. Vacationing on a dime was actually very fun. I enjoyed hunting for little inexpensive excursions: civil war reenactment, factory tours, mountain climbing, and so on. I ended up finding a few hidden gems I wouldn’t have know about otherwise.20130618-210851.jpg

The day after I got back from vacation I drove out to the local Mercy head quarters with my incorporation minister. We met with our leadership team where I spoke about my experience of Mercy over the past three years. They accepted me as a novice! Surprise surprise! So now I am busy planning my reception ceremony which will officially mark the beginning of my novitiate. So soon I’ll be off to the novitiate but until then I know this fun filled summer will just fly by!

20130618-210619.jpg

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. suzanne deliee
    Jun 19, 2013 @ 06:59:40

    Thank you for sharing your experiences. Sounds good so far
    Suzanne

    Reply

  2. Lance Mead
    Jun 19, 2013 @ 09:24:37

    This is a wonderful journey that you are on and am looking forward to your keeping the rest of us on as “tag-a longs.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

