By working in harmony with nature… we change ourselves!

I’m sitting here on my private balcony at Lumen Christi farm and eco-spirituality center attempting to do my novitiate homework, but having more luck bird watching as an American goldfinch perches on a queen anne’s lace blossom.  I’ve been taking breaks from writing my autobiography, which needs to be turned in a few days from now, to go weed the gardens here at the farm.  Ha! who would have thought weeding would be a break!

I just spent five days up in Msculpture garden Indian Islandaine on the Indian reservation where I helped prepare most of the meals.  I really enjoyed cooking for the immersion group, it wasn’t hard and they were so appreciative that I found the time there to be very peaceful.  I was also able to participate in many elements of the immersion experience; the elder’s talk on native spirituality was my favorite.  He spoke about his own experiences and his expression of Christianity through his own traditions of spirituality which I found to be very meaningful to me since they showed me once again that all paths are sacred, and God is in everyone and all of creation.

I’ve only been in Vermont a few days but so far I have been soaking up the stillness and the sounds of creation; even the shouts of guinea hens which seem to have taken a bad attitude towards me.  Being here working on and in the earth reminds me of something the elder said during his talk to the Indian immersion group; connecting with the earth, our mother, can heal you.  The poster stuck to the fridge echoes this as it boldly states growing your own food is the most radical thing we can do today since it will change you, and so change the world.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. suzanne deliee
    Jul 27, 2013 @ 10:50:57

    Thanks, your pictures are beautiful. Keep writing
    Suzanne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

