“In Silence there is eloquence. Stop weaving and see how the pattern improves.”

Novitiate Sweet NovititateIts been more than a month since my last post and what can I say…  This has been a heck of a summer!  I’ve been here there and everywhere and now I’m in Missouri, the new home of the US Novitiate.  Well, this will be a year of reflection and deepening discernment for me so I will be posting with less frequency.

Moving into the Novitiate has kept me busy, but there has been plenty of fun things too!  We went to the Arch, the World Festival, and a Cardinals’ baseball game!  But its not all goofing off we have had classes and meetings too.  This week will be focused on discerning a ministry site, and a spiritual director.  It’s too early to say how the rhythm of life this year will feel, though I expect it will be a very helpful as I seek to deepen the retreat-like atmosphere.  Frankly, right now I’m just glad to be unpacked somewhere and as strange as it may sound to some I look forward to silent Fridays!

Last Friday was a welcome break after packing, flying, and unpacking!  I needed very much to take a day to be still.  We are allowed to spend our retreat day as we see fit so the experience is very individualized and stress free.  I took advantage of my surrounding and spent a good part of the day outside which for me is always a peaceful place to be.  I began to feel like myself again by the end of the day; it amazes me how moving can shake up your whole life, but maybe that’s not a bad thing.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sister Elaine Deasy
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 15:04:00

    Awesome reflection Mandy! Prayers, love and HAPPY MERCY DAY!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

