Faith is an oasis in the heart which will never be reached by the caravan of thinking.

photo(2)As many of you know I recently moved to St. Louis for my canonical novitiate year as part of my formation with the Sisters of Mercy.  Anyone preparing to enter a religious order is required by the Vatican to complete a year of study, prayer, and discernment.  For me this brings me one step closer to become a Sister of Mercy!  It has been an exciting time for me as I began new classes and sought to deepen my prayer life, this time has also challenged me to grow as a person and to grow into what it means to be a sister.

Lately we have been studying our constitutions and discussing how transitions can mess with your life!  The funny thing about transition is how it breaks life open for you and even though it feels chaotic while your in the midst of it clarity seems to poke its cute little head out in the end.  I’ll have to let you know what that looks like when I get there!

Fortunately, with all this work and wading through the quagmire of transition and discernment our desert days, or Oasis days as I like to call them, have become a photo(1)welcome retreat from the week.  This day of silence and prayer can be spent in anyway I feel would be helpful to me and is a great time for me to pull together my week; meanwhile I try to make some sense out of the big picture.  I’ve really enjoyed having this time set aside for me because I sometimes need a push to take a break and to take a look at what is moving in my life.  I think Oasis days have been the most refreshing yet challenging part of my time here so far.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tanjabuzzimoriarty
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 12:56:16

    I love your attitude, lady! Oasis out of a desert. Keep going! Love, Tanja

    Reply

  2. Allie
    Sep 20, 2013 @ 09:55:10

    This sounds wonderful!! I am trying to meditate in silence each day for at least 10 minutes!

    Reply

  3. suzanne
    Sep 21, 2013 @ 10:14:53

    Thank you for your sharing. Good work.Sounds wonderful. I need to follow your example more.

    Reply

  4. Sister Elaine Deasy
    Sep 22, 2013 @ 17:27:45

    Blessings on all your days, be they desert or oasis.
    Cool,reflection…keep going deeper….
    In mercy,
    Elaine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

