Transitions that Teach: Learning from Where You Live.

I cannot believe how the time has just flown by since Christmas!  Like the school year the second semester goes too quickly and planning has already begun for the next phase of my formation.  After I finish my canonical year out here in St. Louis I will begin what is called the apostolic year which is focused on ministry experiences.  Mercy ministries from around the Institute invited me to join them for my six month placement, and one in particular caught my eye.  Mercy Vocational High School, located in Philadelphia, is a high school which includes vocational programs not least of all being my personal favorite: Culinary!  I hope you can tell just how excited I am to be able to get back into a kitchen.  I have really missed working this year and though I get to cook for my sisters at home, it’s just not the same.  I am not sure what I will really be doing as an assistant to one of the culinary instructors and I’m sure I will get to try many things out in this placement.  Most of all I look forward to the opportunity to share my love of cooking with the students.

20140518_154912_resizedAs things roll along out here in St. Louis I also try not to think about this impending move, packing, and all the joys of transitions.  As you can see I’m not doing very well in this endeavor.  Sometimes I feel a bit like a nomad being here for a while, and then Philly for a few months, and then somewhere else down the line.  At the same time I know each move makes me stronger and gives me deeper roots in the community which is what really matters.  I am also glad to be able to meet so many sisters because the more I meet the more complete my picture of Mercy, and our founderess Catherine, becomes.  I have met so many wonderful sisters in my home region, and those I have met here and on my travels to other Mercy regions have only helped me to grow.  So while I try not to mentally pack and unpack in anticipation of my next move I am doing my best to soak up all the mercying lived out here around me in the daily experiences of all the sisters I meet.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donna Conroy
    May 22, 2014 @ 12:18:39

    Well done, Amanda!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

